Online Safety Tips

What is the Safety Alert?

You will find this red Safety Alert on every page of the Henderson House website.  Once clicked, this button will immediately bring you to Google's home page.  This is in place in case someone comes into proximity that you do not want knowing you are on this website.  The use of this button does not erase or hide your browser history information.  

Personal Safety Tips

  • Asses risks
  • Create a safety plan
  • Obtain protection order
  • Communicate with school
  • Call us
  • Talk with a trusted friend
  • Tell a trusted family member
  • Seek counseling
  • Attend a support group
  • ​Secure important documents

For information on:

  • Private browsing
  • Clearing your cache, cookies, and history
  • And more online security info

​​Click on the RAINN Safe Web Browsing button below


Additional Reading on Online Safety

Mission:

Providing culturally aware outreach, education and services for victims of domestic and sexual violence through leadership, hope and respect for thriving families.

It is impossible to completely erase your online activities.  However, there are several ways to conduct your self-help research without calling attention to yourself:

  • Clear select websites from from your browser history.
    • ​Deleting the entire history could look suspicious if you are in fact being watched.
  • ​Your email, text messages, and instant messages can be tracked and therefore are not safe communication methods if you are being watched.
  • Carry out research on an escape plan, a new job, alternative living space, or bus tickets on a private or safe device.
    • ​Computers and devices that are safe could be found at the public library, an internet café, or in the hands of a trusted friend.

Digital Stalking, by Captain Marlowe